16 Responses to “My First Marathon: The Wonderful in the Horrible”

  1. Matt McWilliams (@MattMcWilliams2) Says:

    I’m at a loss for words, which is like saying I just saw Haley’s Comet.

    Wow. Amazing, amazing story Laura.

  2. Carolyn Says:

    Such a moving and inspirational writing. You truly have a gift from God– your writings. Keep writing– it helps more people than you will ever know! 🙂

  3. Joel Fortner Says:

    This was so moving Laura. Congrats on achieving this goal!

  4. skropp Says:

    Great post Laura! I’ve got crazy respect for you!! I don’t know that I could EVER run a marathon.. Nor that I would want to :).
    What a blessing to be able to help someone! Sure it probably hurt your time, you showed true compassion (after all, it was along a road that the Samaritan came across the man who’d been robbed and beaten).
    To me, that part spoke loudest to me in your post, because it shows you’re true character!
    As far as the darkness…I’ve been there, I totally know what that feeling is like! “God is faithful…” (1 Cor. 10:13)

    Great post. And congrats on finishing 🙂

  5. Bret Wortman (@BretWortman) Says:

    Wow, and I used to tell stories about the one 10K I ran. No longer!

    I’m so chuffed for you! Thanks for sharing your experience with us, good and bad.

  6. Anna Popescu Says:

    Congrats Laura! I know about that spiritual darkness you’re talking about and it isn’t pretty. But thankfully we have a Savior who gets us through those times!

    Blessings!
    ~Anna

    • specializingintheimpossible Says:

      …and the darkness makes our Savior look all the more beautiful!
      Knowing there are others out there who have experienced the same thing, is why I was willing to share. Sometimes we can be each other’s “Jesus with skin on”
      Thanks, Anna!!

  7. Carol Dublin Says:

    Those are incredible accomplishments, Laura, finishing the marathon, pushing through your darkness and helping someone in the process. I echo the comments here – your writing is beautiful and you should definitely do more of it. Thank you for sharing and congratulations!

  8. Purposeful, Intentional, Productive « Specializing in the Impossible Says:

    […] training for and running a marathon (see Here We Go Again… and Good vs. Crappy Runs and My First Marathon:  The Wonderful in the Horrible), after trudging through NaNoWriMo (see NaNoWriMo!!!!!!!!!!!!), and after a week of being sick, I […]


Leave a Reply

