What is your Passion?

The last several months I have filled my “spare” time with things I love:  running, learning about leadership, working on nonfiction, spending time with family, friends, and my fur-babies. But something was missing.

I knew it was missing. But just like anything else…the longer I went without, the more I thought I was okay without it. I’m a relatively healthy person:  I exercise regularly, I eat healthier than the average American, I have a wonderful marriage, I’ve managed to get enough sleep. Still, I have repeatedly found myself feeling despondent.

This week my husband told me he knew why I struggled. He said it was because I no longer pursued my passion:  writing fiction. He went on about my imagination, stuff I’ve already written, how I put stories together. He inspired me, just enough, to start working on fiction again. And guess what! I LOVE it! I’ve worked on fiction a few nights this week and I can’t wait to do more!

Lesson learned:  No matter how many things you’re involved in, that you love, you must continue pursuing your passion to be truly happy.

I believe God designed us to have specific passions. And it is through those passions that he can accomplish his greatest work through us!

Writing by Sunset

6 Responses to “What is your Passion?”

  1. trikatykid Says:

    I could not agree more. I grew up in a very “religious” family and I remember sitting in church as a young adult and someone rattling on about “gifts” – our gifts from God. I felt empty because I did not have the gift of evangelism, I did not have the gift of piano playing. I did not have the gift of spiritual leadership. I did not even have the desire to go to a “Bible” college while the remainder of the teenagers my age were planning on going to Word of Life, Moody, etc.. I wish someone had said to me, back then what you wrote tonight: God designed us to have specific passions. I did not have to struggle to find a “gift’ that was uninteresting to me.

    I am not a “religious” person, although my family all still goes to church very regularly. That’s their passion, I suppose. But here I am.. I love to write, I love to exercise, I am very educated in the field of exercise science, I am passionate and caring about health and wellness .. and many people would say that I have someone (without knowing what I was doing) putting together my passions, strengths and interests and using them as my “gift” because now I write a blog, I have a lot of followers and many need my help and I have found a way to reach them and help them.

    So I like this post – it’s spot on. And I am so glad you have reconnected with one of your passions again. I look forward to reading some of your off-blog work!

    • specializingintheimpossible Says:

      Thanks for laying it all out there and sharing, Katy!
      I also struggled with “discovering” my spiritual gift. As a young person I had no self-confidence, didn’t think I had any interests, so felt like I had no purpose. I would have never thought our gifts could be so aligned with what we LOVE to do 🙂
      I am glad you are pursuing your passions!!

  2. shelley Says:

    True Laura. Things feel “off” when the balance isn’t right. I notice it now with the “school” schedule back on. My routine was set and I stayed on track – not, not so much. Time for some adjusting.

  3. Carol Dublin Says:

    I can’t agree more. I have finally discovered that my two passions writing and running and now that I schedule time for both each morning, I find I am so much happier. And it’s easier to slog through the rest of the day too. Great post! And good luck with the writing.


Leave a Reply

