Good vs. Crappy Runs

Just crossed the finish line of my 2nd 1/2 Marathon

I mentioned in Here We Go Again… that I was going to be training for a marathon. First off let me say, I haven’t backed out yet! Before starting, I was nervous about running three days in a row (I am using the Hal Higdon Novice 1 training schedule). I wondered if I would get shin splints right away, never recover, and have to back out of the race. Some of you may think it extreme that I already had that fear. But my running had been pretty sporadic, and I’ve known a number of people who have done just that.

So far, so good.

Today was not my best time, but it felt glorious! It’s always good to have those runs that feel just perfect.

Yesterday I had the crappiest run yet. Felt awful. Of course, it didn’t help that I ran during a hot part of the day… But during that run, I reminded myself we have to have the crappy runs to realize how great the good runs really are.

And tonight, I realized that perspective is similar to a view we should have about life.

We don’t like going through the crappy parts of life–the other day I just wanted to curl up in a corner. But if we didn’t have those crappy parts, we wouldn’t realize how priceless the good parts are.

May I always, in a way, be thankful for the crappy times of life. I am definitely thankful for the lessons I learn through running!

8 Responses to “Good vs. Crappy Runs”

  1. Carol Dublin Says:

    You are so right – we definitely need the crappy runs to appreciate the good ones. And life too. I don’t rest well, but after a really awful run 2 days ago, I took yesterday as a rest day from running, and today’s run was awesome. Really made a difference, Same thing in work and personal life. Sometimes I need really off day to then appreciate the greatness the next day. Thanks for the reminders! And good luck with your marathon!

  2. Joel Fortner Says:

    SOOOOO very true! Perspective is awesome. =) Keep going!

  3. Aaron Nelson (@epicenterone) Says:

    I love this post Laura! Fits me like a glove right now – as the last six+ months feels like the crappiest race we’ve ever run on many levels. Thanks for this jolt of insight. The crappy part is just a snapshot – it’s not the whole movie.

  4. Purposeful, Intentional, Productive « Specializing in the Impossible Says:

    […] training for and running a marathon (see Here We Go Again… and Good vs. Crappy Runs and My First Marathon:  The Wonderful in the Horrible), after trudging through NaNoWriMo (see […]

  5. Hal Higdon: Running « Rubber Tyres --> Smooth Rides Says:

    […] Good vs. Crappy Runs (specializingintheimpossible.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

