Greatness at 5:30 A.M.?

When Is the Time for Greatness?

I had it made as a runner. I lived in a town small enough you could run anywhere, any time, and be safe. I had a consistent running partner who was very encouraging. I would get home from work, throw on my running gear, and head out the door, covering anywhere from three to seven miles. More if we were training for a half marathon. I loved running for the challenge (as I talked about in Marathon Training:  The Beginning) and the endorphins. It made me healthier, made me feel better, and made me sleep better.

Now….it’s different.

Now we live in a big city where it’s not a good idea to go running certain places or certain times, at least not by myself. My husband has been kind enough to join me, even though he doesn’t like running (I think he does it because he loves me and knows it’s good for him). We run one mile, twice, during the week. I try to cover more than two miles on the weekend. I know, being in a transitional stage of life makes it harder to find time for running. I miss it.

There is one thing I have learned from this alteration in my running-side of life:

When we want something to remain in our lives badly enough, we’ll surprise ourselves with how we make it work.

I am not a morning person. And I always declared I could never get up early on a regular basis to run. Until now.

I don’t like getting up at 5:30 a.m. My husband likes it even less. BUT we still do it. To run. There is absolutely no other time we could run. Do I think it’s worth it? Yes.

How many times in life are we put in a position where we have to make something work? If it’s worth enough to us, we do just that… Make it work. Many times we don’t push ourselves the way we could, because we don’t have to. Why do we have to wait until the “have to” point? Just imagine what could happen if we push ourselves before reaching that point… What greatness could be accomplished!?

6 Responses to “Greatness at 5:30 A.M.?”

  1. william60 Says:

    One of my favorite quotes, ” To live is the rarist thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.” – Oscar Wilde. To find time to do what we might believe is impossible, those thing we love that nurture the hunger within our souls, that is living. I always tell my firends and wife who have their dreams, stop watching TV and do it! LOL. Take care, William

  2. catnipoflife Says:

    Life has loveliness to sell, all beautiful and splendid things, blue waves whitened on a cliff, soaring fire that sways and sings, and children’s faces looking up, holding wonder like a cup.
    —Sara Teasdale (American lyrical poet, 1884–1933)
    Awesome picture! I invite you to visit http://www.awakenings2012.blogspot.com/, especially check out the video clip We Share the Same Dreams. Blessings to you, Sharla


Leave a Reply

