Got Stress? Got Bible?

I woke up Wednesday morning not feeling like going to the local women’s Bible study (I had visited for the first time last week)….

Got Stress?

I woke up late. I felt like I had woken up at least twenty times in the night. I had a headache. But I got up anyway because I told my sister-in-law I would pick up an extra lesson for her.

I got ready. I opened the door and saw my car covered with frost. Ugh.

I defrosted the car, scraped the windows, and headed out. Late. On the way, I took a wrong turn. On a toll road. Ugh. Very late.

I need an attitude adjustment when I find myself driving the wrong direction. And for a brief moment considered just going back to the house, to my warm bed. But told myself, this is something I needed to do.

I arrived 40 minutes late. Fortunately this was Bible Study Fellowship International. Which means I only missed the opening and songs, and a few minutes of the actual study.

I was able to meet the members of the group I just joined, take part in the study, and listen to the lecture after. Sitting in the lecture, I realized this was something I needed to hear. God wanted me there that morning.

I also remembered that sometimes when God wants us somewhere for a specific reason, the devil tries everything he can to keep us from discovering that. And sometimes he succeeds by making us feel miserable. Now, it only makes me want to plow through.

We studied I Thessalonians. The three points our speaker made were:

  • The Holy Spirit gives the power to lead a holy life.
  • Believers multiply through abundant prayer and abounding love.
  • In view of Christ’s return, Christians are to live to please God privately and publicly.

We were also encouraged to memorize I Thessalonians 5:16-18:

“Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

3 Responses to “Got Stress? Got Bible?”

  1. Jen McDonough Says:

    Oh what a wonderful post to wake up to this morning!
    Praying for you guys are you are in the “thick of it” on your finance journey.
    Jen
    fieldofdebt.com

  2. Got Job? « Specializing in the Impossible Says:

    […] last blog entry, Got Stress? Got Bible?, described the “feeling like crap” obstacles I faced the morning of that second […]


Leave a Reply

