A Tribe. A Family. A Dream?

I am blessed. By a group of people who are supporters, confidants, mentors, prayer warriors, cheerleaders, encouragers, think tanks, truth tellers, ideas people, accountability partners, driven, goal-setters, dream-pursuers, and….like family. Also known as a tribe.

Why do people think pursuing a dream has to be an “alone” journey? It doesn’t matter how unique your dream is or how much of an introvert you are, it’s possible to find people to make key connections with. And it’s good for you.

Becoming a tribe member introduced me to others with similar passions. Being part of that tribe has helped me grow as a person and leader, tremendously. It has helped me see the world in broader and deeper terms. It has exposed me to sheer joy. It is one of the things in life that has helped me develop in the direction I was created to go. And I will always treasure those relationships. Even though they may always remain cyber.

So. Whether or not it’s on the internet–through blogs or other forms of social media, or talking face to face–go find people to connect with. A group that’s just as passionate about specific things as you are. You just may find exactly where you were meant to be. And someday find yourself in the middle of your dream.

Who are your people?

Who are your people?

Do you have a group of people like that? On the internet, family, work, school, church?

12 Responses to “A Tribe. A Family. A Dream?”

  1. Aaron Nelson (@epicenterone) Says:

    Hi Laura,
    I’m so happy to be a member of this tribe too. :) I’ve learned so much from listening in on all our tweet chats and e-mails. Hope your meeting was successful today. :)

  2. lilykreitinger Says:

    Honored to be part of that same tribe and to have you as a valued member of it. :))

  3. dkzody Says:

    This was the group with whom I worked for 21 years. I miss that in retirement. Although we still see one another, we aren’t working on a common project any more.

  4. Anna Popescu Says:

    Laura, I am blessed with several people who encourage me and my writing, although I have never thought of them as my “tribe” since they are not all in one group. Some of them are other writers. Some of them I will probably never meet this side of heaven. And a few of them are closer to me even though we are not related, and these are especially encouraging to me because they know me so well and understand my health-related limitations. I believe God puts these kinds of people in our lives not only to encourage us in our faith journeys and careers, but for the accountability they provide when we need it the most.

    Thank you for this precious post!

    Blessings!
    ~Anna

    • specializingintheimpossible Says:

      Hey Anna :)
      I’m actually referring to a specific group of people in my post: the CLoBlogTribe
      I connected in at http://chrislocurto.com
      I love your description of the people in your life! It reminds me of ALL the people I have to be thankful for!! And I completely agree: “I believe God puts these kinds of people in our lives not only to encourage us in our faith journeys and careers, but for the accountability they provide when we need it the most.”
      Thank you!!

  5. jrivers12 Says:

    It definitely is an awesome group! Connecting with all of you over the past eightmonths has been life changing!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,186 other followers

