Got Job?

As most of you know, I’ve been looking for another job for several months. And resigned from my last job a month ago to pursue finding another full time.

I start my new job Monday, a job that appears to fit me perfectly!

How I got my new job seems, to me, like a pretty amazing story, so I wanted to share…

We temporarily moved in with my husband’s brother and sister-in-law, so I could be in town for interviews. My sister-in-law invited me to a Bible study she attends Wednesday mornings, Bible Study Fellowship International. I went to their introductory class the first week. They have you fill out a form if you are interested in participating. I figured, or rather hoped, I would not be available for much longer… You know, hoping to get a job. But I chose to sign up anyway. It sounded like something great to be a part of, even for a short while.

My sister-in-law told me she wouldn’t be able to make it the next week, and I almost considered not going. But chose to go, knowing it would be good for me, and she needed me to pick up the next lesson for her.

My last blog entry, Got Stress? Got Bible?, described the “feeling like crap” obstacles I faced the morning of that second Wednesday. And when I typed that entry, I realized why the devil might not want me at the Bible study, but didn’t want to post something I felt might happen.

That second Wednesday, I shared my search for a job as a prayer request. The women in my small group asked what kind of work I was looking for, etc. so they could keep their ears/eyes open for me (which meant a lot). That evening my small group leader called and asked if she could give my phone number to one of the members. They were possibly interested in me for a position at their company.

What ensued was a great phone call, application via e-mail, and a very enjoyable interview that included our spouses. Both my husband and I felt this was the position God had for me. It was my number one choice. At the same time, I interviewed a couple other places. Good practice and nice to have backups!

I knew one of the other places was going to offer me a job, and hoped they would do so after my number one choice hopefully did the same. It was not to be. When I got the call, I told the other position my husband and I had a couple determining factors to figure out and asked if I could let them know later today. Then my husband and I prayed, and I called my number one choice. I told them I had been offered another job. And the reason I was letting them know was because they were my number one choice. I knew it wasn’t fair to put that kind of pressure on them, but wanted to know if they had someone else in mind for the position, or if they were thinking of hiring me. They told me they had written up a job offer letter for me last night! And just hadn’t sent it via e-mail yet! Wow.

So… They sent me the letter. I accepted, of course!

Do you know your destination?

So. The “reason” the devil didn’t want me at that Bible study:  I would have never found out about the job God specifically wanted me to have!

Thank you, new bosses, for seeing what you needed in me. Thank you, my husband, for believing in me. Thank you, sister-in-law, for starting it all by inviting me to your Bible study.

And most importantly, THANK YOU, GOD!!

Now we just need to sell our house….

7 Responses to “Got Job?”

  1. Joel Fortner Says:

    Yeah! I’m thrilled for you and proud of you. This was so much fun to read. Congrats to you both!

  2. dawnmentzer Says:

    GREAT story, Laura! Congrats on your new job – I wish you the best. It’s so neat when things work out in strange, yet wonderful ways. :)

  3. There’s No Place Like Home… « Specializing in the Impossible Says:

    [...] because of circumstances I have written about in previous posts (see Changes In the New Year and Got Job?), we already need to sell [...]

  4. Can Stress and Communication Co-exist? « Specializing in the Impossible Says:

    [...] The Beginning of Our Impossible Dreams, I mention a few situations that were stressful. And in Got Job? I mentioned part of the stressful process I went through in looking for a job. After God showed up [...]

  5. When Everything Falls Into Place « Specializing in the Impossible Says:

    [...] New Year). After a month of job hunting, I found a job…that I’m still so thankful for (Got Job?)! As far as a place to live….we kept looking, and looking, and looking….(He Will Lead [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,189 other followers

