What to do when we don’t know what to do

Do you ever find yourself in that situation, where you don’t know what to do? I’m sure you have.

Two Trails - which way do we choose?

Maybe you’re at a cross-roads where you have to make a choice, or you’re trucking along in the direction God called you and come up on a dead end…

The next step we should take is not always pointed out to us with a big, neon sign. That would make life too easy, right? But most of the time, life is not easy.

I used to wonder why life wasn’t easier, especially when our God is a loving God. But over time I have come to realize two very wonderful things happen when we go through the “non-easy” times:  It creates an opportunity for us to grow closer to God. And it creates an opportunity for us to grow as a person, more into who we were intended to be.

I also learned something else.

Right now, I don’t know what to do. I don’t have a big, neon sign pointing at which choice I should make. But I can’t just not make a choice. I can’t just wait. I have to make a choice. So. I made the most logical choice, set things into motion, and am waiting to see if God closes the door, or opens it wider.

Sometimes I think God waits to let us know the answer, until after we step out in faith.

The thing I like about that idea, is God is helping me grow my faith in him. I can’t wait to find out the next step.

Have you stepped out in faith?

8 Responses to “What to do when we don’t know what to do”

  1. fromtheheartofj Says:

    It’s all about embracing the mystery isn’t it?!

  2. Joel Fortner Says:

    You’re exactly right. It’s not always clear what God wants us to do but it’s clear to God. I’m publishing a post Monday about how to write a personal mission statement, which has so much more to do with not writing at all and everything to do with prayer and listening. The same applies here. Great post!

  3. Dan Black on Leadership Says:

    Great points!!! My wife and myself stepped out in faith and moved to San Diego a 11/2 ago. Looking back it was been a great choice.

  4. MAH Says:

    Pastor Craig of LifeChurch.tv online did a series on Nemiah. In the first lesson of the serious he said “when you are trying to do something good you will meet opposition.” As I thought about this it made more and more sense. I look as to many people and think that they have easy lives, but in all actuality these people are moving in any direction and they are normally up to no good.

    Keep up the good work

    • specializingintheimpossible Says:

      Couldn’t agree with you more! :)
      It seems like the different times I’ve made a decision I know God wants me to, I immediately run into opposition. I guess one could spin that as another take on the idea that anything worthwhile takes hard work.
      Thanks for the encouragement!!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,189 other followers

