Initial Reactions….from friends, family, acquaintances…and strangers

  • I wish I had the guts to follow my dreams. Our number one response. As Americans we often take the American Dream for granted. And however skewed from the original definition, comfort, job stability, and financial gain are what people seem to think of when referencing that Dream. Maybe that is why more people are not following their dreams. If it takes you out of your comfort zone, the job is not guaranteed, and finances are iffy, you may question the value (or sanity!) in pursing your dream. But worthwhile dreams can be risks and hard work. Maybe that is why people think pursuing them takes guts.
  • I regret not following my dreams. Our number two response. No one wants regrets in life. Sure, we all make mistakes… That doesn’t mean we regret what we have learned. I believe our dreams are usually intertwined with our purpose in life. And I believe everyone has a purpose, even though sometimes I doubted I would ever find mine. It just took a little while before I was prepared to recognize it. I believe a person cannot feel complete unless they are following their purpose. You may never know who you were fully meant to be. Of course, we always have opportunity to get back on track.
  • Are you crazy!? This might have been our number one response if more people felt comfortable telling us we were nuts! Following our dreams can take us away from the ‘safety of the known’. So many people have a preconceived idea about what life should look like. And when anyone deters from that idea, they have a hard time understanding. One of the things we can and do benefit from, from people in this category, is listening to their concerns. We may have good intentions, but our heads may be so far in the clouds we do not see everything we should. These people may not always be right in their opinions, but they offer a different perspective. Listening to them can prove invaluable. It can help us see things from all angles. And may help us recognize a benefit or pertinent downside we would not have seen otherwise.

We appreciate all the responses we receive(d). The one that surprised us the most was the first, with how often we heard it. People seem to have an unmet thirst for what they dream but seemingly cannot attain. Start believing in yourself!

Hold on to your dreams!

Disclaimer:  Everything I wrote above is in context of how my husband and I are pursuing our dreams—with a huge leap of faith. There are those whose dreams require a different approach, maybe along the lines of baby steps…where consistency is key. Those dreams are just as important to follow, and every step is/will be worth it!

Has anyone received different responses?

10 Responses to “Initial Reactions….from friends, family, acquaintances…and strangers”

  1. Tara Says:

    I love what you have to say here! I agree completely.
    Thanks for visiting my blog.

  2. MAH Says:

    Everyone has dreams from the time they are little and those dreams change overtime. These are dreams for their career, finances, family, spirituallity, material things, intagible things, etc. As you said people tend to stay in their comfort zone. Not only are they not willing to step out of the comfort zone they are not willing to do what it takes to create the life they want. They just settle for good, because it is easier to obtain and maintain.

    Collins, author of Good to Great says that Good is the enemy of Great. People settle for good and stop striving for great. Good may look like a stable job with a healthy paycheck in a unfavorable work enviornment. GREAT would be the stable job and healthy paycheck in a FAVORABLE work enviornment.

    Sometimes I get tired on my journey to create the life I want, but I don’t give up I just take a break. On that journey I have done things that I don’t want to do and made sacrafices that will untimately place me closer to my goal.

    I hope everyone takes the time to follow their dreams no matter how often they change.

    • specializingintheimpossible Says:

      Thanks for sharing, MAH! I like your point about good vs. great. Thinking about things in those terms kind of change one’s perspective. And it’s always nice to hear when people are willing to make sacrifices to achieve a greater goal! I wish you the best!! Thanks :)

  3. Field of Debt.com Says:

    Laura, I loved your blog! How inspirational!
    The quotes you listed from the inspirational speakers were all great. I especially love the following:
    •Biggest threat to the future is not letting go of the past.

    How many times have we all done this? God put things on our path in life for a reason…how we react to those obstacles determines who we will be.
    I am looking forward to following your blog.
    God bless,
    Jen
    http://www.fieldofdebt.com

    • specializingintheimpossible Says:

      Thank you! I hope my blog is inspirational for others!
      I believe God uses obstacles as opportunities to form us into who we were created to be. For me, believing that helps me to let go of the past and focus on the future :)

  4. Field of Debt.com Says:

    That is awesome. I too believe God uses those obstacles in life to shale us. I used a part of your quotes in my blog this morning and posted your blog address. It is nice to share encouragement to others.
    Jen
    http://Www.fieldofdebt.com

  5. Our Marriage….Rocky? « Specializing in the Impossible Says:

    [...] written about people’s reactions to our seemingly “extreme” way of following our dreams, see Initial Reactions….from friends, family, acquaintances…and strangers and touched on people not understanding, in general, why someone would pursue out-of-the-ordinary [...]

  6. Journey With God « Specializing in the Impossible Says:

    [...] people are surprised when they hear the choices we’ve made. I mention this in Initial Reactions….from friends, family, acquaintances….and strangers. But that’s an old post–there have been even more unexpected choices since then. Many [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,186 other followers

