The Beginning of Our Impossible Dreams

Surprise – and greetings from ICS Bangkok. I was looking over your application documents from 2008 and was pleased with all that I read. I don’t know your current situation, but wanted to explore the possibilities with you of serving here at ICS….

It all started with those words. And yes, that would be Bangkok, Thailand.

I stared at the computer screen, wide-eyed, my throat tight. I knew, as soon as my husband saw his e-mail, he would be ecstatic. I wasn’t.

We talked pros and cons. I cried. The idea of teaching overseas has always appealed to him. Same here. But I just started a job I was enthusiastic about, was actively involved with a group of runners, and gained a writing accountability partner (we have the fantastical goal of writing novels).

The next week my husband and I traveled to beautiful, organic Manitou Springs, Colorado. We hiked a number of trails:  Intemann trail, Red Mountain, Garden of the Gods, the Barr trail (only half way!), and the Incline. Late afternoon we worked on our passions:  my writing and his drawing. Our evenings usually ended with discussions about Thailand, what we were supposed to do with the rest of our lives, and my tears.

Barr Camp: Halfway point up Pike's Peak

One evening, the idea of my husband quitting his job—pursuing composing and art—unfolded. What perfect timing—we don’t have children yet. What horrible timing—our landlady wanted to sell the house, so we needed to find another place to live. And my new job was still financially unstable.

My husband went through one interview with Thailand, just to make sure. He decided Thailand was not for us…yet. We laid out a plan we thought would have to happen for my husband to be able to quit his job:  plans for housing, my job, etc. That plan has been thrown out the window.

What is God’s timing? How often do we, as Americans, step out on a financial limb to pursue our dreams?

We must learn to follow God’s plan…however different from ours it seems.

My husband chose to quit his job, to pursue composing and freelancing as a color pencil artist. There will be many struggles and sacrifices I’m sure. And what we like to call learning opportunities. The number one comment we heard after my husband officially resigned:  “I wish I had the guts to pursue my dreams.”

So here I am, in this blog, letting others see through our lives…that yes, it is possible to pursue a seemingly impossible dream.

14 Responses to “The Beginning of Our Impossible Dreams”

  1. candidkerry Says:

    Praying for you guys as you follow hard after God. You inspire me! Blessings on your journey, sweet friend!

  2. Stephen Muires Says:

    It’s one of the hardest things. For years me and my wife wanted to re-organize our lives, jobs, goals and move to Sweden. We lived in Denmark at the time. All plans we came up with felt heavy, worrisome, not good. So we never moved.

    We allowed change to come from the inside. Instead of pushing against the current, somehow we found a current that carried us. I got the opportunity of studying in the US for three years, with very generous financial support. We moved to the US. At the end of my studies, the job I was assigned to was in Stockholm, Sweden. Which is where we wanted to move in the first place.

    But the current never stops moving. During the three years in the US I so fell in love with that country, I now just want to move back there at the first opportunity :)

  3. MAH Says:

    I look forward to following you story.

  4. realrodjohnson Says:

    Awesome post. I am sure most would agree that when it comes to stepping out on any limb, especially financially, takes more faith that a lot of us have.

    Will definitely be praying for you guys!

  5. singleycw Says:

    Interesting, Laura. God’s best to you. Just trusting that God will care for you like He does the lilies, sparrows and stray dogs is really all that’s needed to move ahead on any dream. Simple trust, but lots of it. Last fall I gave up my bread and butter job (which was richer than my husband’s bread and butter) to pursue On My Own Now Ministries, which has operated in crimson red since its inception. We’re on one salary now, but I am not looking back and just trusting.

  6. Our Marriage….Rocky? « Specializing in the Impossible Says:

    [...] getting a divorce. News flash for the both of us! (To read the real “why” visit my first post The Beginning of Our Impossible Dreams) At first I was upset…this person clearly does not know us and has too much time on their [...]

  7. Creative Solutions for Christmas « Specializing in the Impossible Says:

    [...] gifts… at least compared to what we normally do. As I mentioned in a couple previous posts, The Beginning of Our Impossible Dreams and Financial Obstacles, we technically live on one paycheck. This is our first Christmas season as [...]

  8. Can Stress and Communication Co-exist? « Specializing in the Impossible Says:

    [...] The Beginning of Our Impossible Dreams, I mention a few situations that were stressful. And in Got Job? I mentioned part of the stressful [...]

  9. It’s been a year! « Specializing in the Impossible Says:

    [...] published my very first post on July 21, 2011, titled The Beginning of Our Impossible Dreams. Let’s [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,189 other followers

